Jean Clennell – Job Talk

Meeting on Monday 20 January 2014

Our newest Member, Jean Clennell, talked us through her career in teaching. Jean, who hails from County Durham, trained at Leeds University and stayed here, teaching first at John Smeaton, and then in 1987 taking up the post of deputy head at Roundhay School, which she held for 26 years before semi-retiring last year. Jean still works at the school for two days a week but fortunately for the club now has time for Rotary as well.

Jean Clennell Deputy Head of Roundhay School since 1987

Jean Clennell Deputy Head of Roundhay School since 1987

When Jean joined Roundhay School it was adapting to the changes from its history as separate boys’ and girls’ grammar schools to a co-educational comprehensive for 13 – 18 year olds. In 1992 it expanded to take pupils from age 11. Today the school is very diverse, drawing pupils from all backgrounds, with less than 40% of pupils of white European ethnicity, and an increasing number with special needs. In the past ten to fifteen years the school has gone from strength to strength, with all the staff pulling together, and recently rated by OFSTED as outstanding in all departments. A testament to the school’s strength is that Jean chose to have her own children educated there.

Jean spoke with humour, but her passion for teaching and her empathy with young people shone through. She described her career as ‘the best job in the world’. Her particular interest was on the pastoral side, doing what she could to ensure that each child is valued and helped to achieve his or her full potential. Gillian Hayward, who among her other responsibilities is the Chair of Governors at Roundhay, gave the vote of thanks and paid tribute to Jean’s dedication and creativity in coming up with solutions to difficult problems.



The earlier part of the evening was given over to the Club’s election of officers for next year. For the first time, the club was in the fortunate position of having two excellent candidates for the post of vice president, and so there was an election by secret ballot of all those attending. Gillian Hayward was elected, by a slender margin ahead of our other able candidate, Janet Appleton. We are grateful to them both.

The full list of officers for next year is as follows:

President Scott Wolstenholme

President Elect Paul Nickson

Vice President Gillian Hayward

Treasurer Shirley Weatherill

Sergeant at Arms Raj Menon

Auditors Roger Cannon and Steve McGrail

Representative for District Council Carol Jordan

Committee Chairs

Membership Mike Hampshire

Foundation and International Gurminder Singh

Community Youth and Vocational Jean Clennell

Other responsibilities

Trustees Scott Wolstenholme and David Hawkin

Auditors Roger Cannon and Steve McGrail

Health and Safety and Diversity officer Janet Appleton

Protection officer Gillian Hayward

Marketing and publicity officers David Hawkin and Richard Dickason